Makeup for Mom

Hey guys,

Sorry for the lack of posts the last few weeks. I went home for Christmas break and wanted to spend as much time as possible with my friends and fam. I had an amazing trip, and I even got a new blogging camera for Christmas! While I was home, my mom and I ventured to Sephora and she picked up some new makeup and face products. She always has trouble finding a foundation that matches her skin tone, so she ended up trying on a million different brands including Clinique, Dr. Jart, and Laura Mercier. She has oily skin and rosacea and also wanted something that didn’t look cakey or gather in wrinkles. If you have any of these problems, give those three brands a try.

IMG_0091

IMG_0096

Laura Mercier Mineral Powder in Classic Beige – This was the last foundation my mom tried and it looked amazing! All of the others looked really cakey and we thought this would do the same especially because it’s a powder. It went on smooth and gave a natural finish and the color was really warm.

IMG_0095

Sephora Pro Flawless Powder Brush #40 – As you all know from previous posts, I absolutely love the Sephora Pro brushes, so of course we picked out a powder brush from that collection. These brushes are so soft and always pick up just the right amount of product and last forever.

IMG_0101

Laura Mercier Smooth Focus Pressed Setting Powder – I’ve heard great things about this powder and now my mom carries it everywhere with her and loves it. It’s prefect for controlling shine and oil, and it also helps correct redness.

IMG_0104

Cover FX Anti-Aging Primer – I’m always on the prowl for new primers, so I was really excited my mom got a brand I had never tried before. I was impressed that it not only gives a good base for foundation but also doubles as an anti-aging serum. I wasn’t in love with the texture because it’s more greasy than I’m used to, but I can look past that because it does a good job otherwise.

IMG_0099

Josie Maran Pure Argan Milk – This is the perfect product for winter skin or skin that is really dry in general like mine. I will be purchasing this on my next trip to Sephora, and I was sneakily using it the whole time I was home (sorry mom). This stuff is lightweight and absorbs quickly. Absolutely love it!

IMG_0094

DERMAdoctor Calm Cool & Corrected – This product helps calm rosacea and is also anti-aging. This is the prefect product for my mom and it’s really helping with her redness. This was also a new brand for me, so I’m interested in checking out the rest of the line after seeing how well this product has worked already.

Initially the girl at Sephora was trying foundations on my mom that targeted all of my moms concerns at once. What she decided at the end was it was better to use prep products like the DERMAdoctor, Argan Milk, and the FX primer to target those specific things and then use a more basic foundation. If you guys are having similar problems or have a lot of skin concerns try this method!

xo

Leave a Reply

