Stop the Splurge

Hey guys,

I took a bit of a blog break for the holiday,  but now I’m back in action. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about which products are actually worth splurging on, and I think there are often options at drugstores that can do the same job for a lot less. I am certainly guilty of buying a lot of high end makeup, and there are items that I think are worth the splurge, but I also have cheaper items that I really love.

Lipgloss/Lipstick

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 4.58.19 PM

There are so many good drugstore lip products out there, and these are just three examples that I grabbed. The Revlon Colorburst Gloss in Peony is one of my go-to products. It’s not sticky at all and is a really pretty sheer light pink. The Maybelline Super Stay 24 Color (top) is a more recent purchase, and I want to get it in a few more colors. The staying power is unmatched by anything else i’ve tried. It actually dries on your lips all the way and then you use the gloss side. The Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coquette goes on similar to the Nars Lip Pencils. I don’t love the color, but i’ve been able to use it with other lipsticks/glosses.

Drugstore lip products are always a good idea, but I would especially suggest them if you are new to lipstick and just want to see what looks good with your skin tone or if you want to try something bold.

Makeup Remover

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 4.58.26 PM

I’ve seen a lot of blogs talking about how good the Clarins makeup remover ($28) is and other really expensive brands. Makeup remover is just one of those things that I don’t think I’ll ever splurge on. I’ve had good luck with store brand removers, and for really tough makeup I use the Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter ($16). It’s an oily consistency, so it takes off everything. Obviously $16 is still crazy for makeup remover, so I only get it when the Body Shop is having a sale (which they always are) and generally just use it for nights I go out and have a lot of makeup on.

Lotions/Oils

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 4.58.11 PM

I must admit i’m always super tempted to buy the fancy lotions and oils at Sephora. The L’Occitane Almond Oil looks amazing, but it’s $25 which is just insane! To make up for not getting that, I picked up this Vaseline Cocoa Radiant Body Gel Oil. It takes a a little bit of time to soak in, but once it does it’s non greasy and does a great job moisturizing. The Jergens Ultra Healing has been by go-to forever. Both my mom and my grandmother have always used it too.

Shampoo/Conditioners/Deep Conditioners

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 4.29.00 PM

OK, so right now the Living Proof set I have is pretty pricey. I do really love it, but i’ve decided to use a new method for my hair. My fancy shampoo is now only used on special occasions, so generally on weekends when I go out. I now use a cheaper but amazing option – Loreal Ever Pure Sulfate-Free Shampoo and Conditioner. It’s prefect for color treated hair and smells like rosemary/juniper. I also still use Head and Shoulders on Sunday…okay so maybe i’m a shampoo hoarder.

Deep Conditioners – I’ve never found a deep conditioner or mask that i’ve really loved. I think going homemade is the best way to do it. I’ve tried a lot of different homemade hair masks from Pinterest which mainly involve ingredients that you already have in your house such as eggs, avocados, coconut oil, or yogurt.

Lip Exfoliater/ Polish

There are so many different options for this at Sephora, and in my opinion they are all a waste of money. Coconut Oil + Sugar + rub on your lips = a happy mouth!

xo

2 thoughts on “Stop the Splurge

  1. Those are good ideas. A lot of those products I use too! I’ll definitely be trying the home made conditioner, as I also struggle with finding a conditioner that is reasonable priced.

    Like

Leave a Reply

