Brush Talk

Hey guys,

I’ve been using Bare Mineral Brushes for a really long time. They came with a Bare Mineral set that I bought about 4 or 5 years ago, and for the most part they worked well. They’ve started to become a bit worn though, and I’ve read a lot of blog posts about how using good brushes can really change your makeup. I started by picking up the Sephora Pro Flawless Airbrush when I bought my foundation, and i’ve slowly collected more since then. I also still use a few brushes that aren’t Sephora Pros, so i’ll talk about them as well.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 12.06.25 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 12.06.37 PM

Sephora Pro Flawless Airbrush #56 – This does an amazing job with foundation and blends concealer in nicely. It also doesn’t suck up a lot of product, so I only need one pump of foundation and don’t have to waste it.

Sephora Pro Angled Blush Brush #49 – I noticed a big difference between this blush brush and the bare minerals one I was using. This one isn’t scratchy at all, and it’s smaller so you can put your blush in exactly the right place.

Sephora Pro Angled Contour Brush #75 – I absolutely love this! I use it for my bronzer, and it really takes a lot of the mystery out of contouring. Like the blush brush, it also has a smaller head so placement is easy.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 12.06.46 PM

Sephora Pro Blending Brush # 27 – These guys are the gems of my brush collection. I actually have three of them which might seem excessive, but I like to have at least one clean one for blending out my eyeshadow at the end. If you don’t have a blending brush, and you like a smokey eye, you should probably pick one up right meow.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 12.06.53 PM

Paint Brush – Ok, i know this is weird. I’ve had this in my collection forever, but it really comes in handy. I think using a paint brush for certain things is amazing option because they are always really soft but super cheap. I usually use it as a lip brush if I’m putting on a dark color, and also for liquid eyeliner and covering blemishes with concealer.

Essence of Beauty Crease Brush – I just had to look this up because its been in my makeup collection forever, and I’m pretty sure I stole it from my sister. You can apparently get this brand from ultra and CVS, and I have to say it’s really soft and I love it. This is the only one i’ve had form this brand, but I would definitely consider trying some others from this brand.

Bare Essentials Max Coverage Concealer Brush – This is the only Bare Minerals Brush I’m still using on the reg. It has held up a lot better than the other brushes, and it does such a nice job at blending concealer under the eyes and on blemishes. This is the brush that I usually bring with me on a night out because it’s small and fits nicely in a clutch, but I also find that it’s just as easy to use your foundation blush for to blend concealer.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 12.07.01 PM

Blendercleanser Solid – I don’t have a lot of experience with brush cleansers, but i’ve really enjoyed this one so far. It’s a little bar of soap and you wet your brush and rub it across the surface to clean it. I believe this is actually the travel one, and the regular one is a liquid soap. I picked this up instead of the liquid because it received better reviews.

xo

Leave a Reply

