Sunday Pamper: Food Edition

Hey guys,

So I woke up today with a hangover, and I didn’t even drink last night. I don’t know if this happens to other people, but every once in a while i’ll feel really crappy due to poor eating habits. I have a serious sweet tooth, and I also hate cooking. If I don’t go to Terry’s for dinner I usually end up eating out or eating something bad.

After sleeping most of the morning, I decided I should go to the grocery store and stock up on some healthier options. I also decided to set some goals: cut down on products with added sugar, eat more veggies, drink more water. I went to Fresh Market and Publix, and this is what i picked up:

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.08.12 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.08.20 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.08.28 PM

Kefir is really yummy and tastes very similar to yogurt. It contains probiotics which are good for digestive health. It does have more added sugar than I wanted, but I haven’t been able to find a plain one. This one is a smoothie consistency, so you can mix it with berries or put it over cereal/granola.

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.08.34 PM

Suzie’s Think Healthy Thin Cakes – These are really yummy with almond butter on them. They have a good crunch and 2 or 3 are the perfect snack size.

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.08.49 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.08.42 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.08.05 PM

I’ve always been scared of quinoa because it seemed really difficult to make. This was my first time making it, and it ended up being soooo easy. Overall it’s a lot like rice in taste and consistency. I added yellow squash, edamame, and onions.

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.07.58 PM

I probably drink way too much tea, but I just can’t stop. This one is great for nighttime because it’s caffeine free, and it has a really fresh/soothing flavor.  I find that tea is a good replacement for dessert or a late night snack. It’s sweet even without adding sugar.

xo

Leave a Reply

