Sample Scoop

Hey guys,

So I have a million Sephora samples, and I usually use them for traveling, but I had off today and figured I could give a few of them a whirl and do some reviews. I used the Drybar Texas Tea Volumizing Shampoo and Conditioner, The Hourglass Illusion Hyaluronic Skin Tint, Urban Decay Primer Potion in Sin, and Hourglass Film Noir Full Spectrum Mascara.

Drybar Texas Tea Volumizing Shampoo and Conditioner

image2

Pros: It Gave my hair a lot of volume, free of sulfates, parabens, and phthalates, safe on color treated hair, and smells great

Cons: Shampoo didn’t suds very well, my hair was a little more tangled than usual, and it’s pretty expensive

Verdict: I’m always impressed when a product actually gives my hair volume, so I think I will end up buying this at some point. It’s also sulfate free and safe on colored hair, so that’s super important to me too.

The Hourglass Illusion Hyaluronic Skin Tint

image1

Pros: Looked ok once I had all of my makeup on, has SPF 15, Parabens, Sulfates, and Phthalates free

Cons: really thick, felt heavy on the face, clumped in the creases, difficult to apply

Verdict:  I don’t have a lot of experience with Hourglass products, but I always hear great things about them. But clearly I wasn’t loving this product. I don’t think I would ever buy it because there are so many other products out there that are lightweight and easy to apply but still have great coverage.

image2

This is with just the Hourglass Tint on and now blending in some Nars Concealer under the eyes and on some spots. You can see that the coverage was pretty good. It was just a little to cakey for me

image4

Next is the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer in Sin

Pros: The color is a really pretty champagne that could be worn on its own or with something over it, has stayed well so far

Cons: It is extra heavy on the lids. I’m pretty sure this is just because of the shimmer in it

Verdict: I probably wouldn’t purchase this because it’s heavy, and I like to play around with eyeshadow so I would probably just get the plain one if anything.

image5

You can see here how nice the color is. I did end up putting on eye shadow from the Naked palatte over it because I wanted to see if it still looked ok with it layered. It ended up coming out pretty well even with the sin under it.

image7

Hourglass Film Noir Full Spectrum Mascara

Pros: Gives you separated and volumized lashes, has a reflective jet black sheen

Cons: The formula has thickened in the tube a little

Verdict: Gah, I really really love this stuff. I have already used the sample a few times, but each time I realize more and more how brilliant it is. The reflective sheen sounds strange, but it gives it such a unique look. I think it will be a tough decision for me next time I need to get mascara. It’s going to be between the Dior New Look or this stuff.

image10

This is the finished makeup look with the samples mentioned and Nars Deep Throat Blush, Nars Laguna Bronzer, and Nars Lip Gloss in Dolce Vita with a little bit of the concealer on it to make it a tad lighter.

xo

4 thoughts on “Sample Scoop

Leave a Reply

